Worldwide Shipping Available
Cart 0

What is a Chakra & How it works.

The word Chakra is derived from Sanskrit, meaning ‘wheel’ and ‘cycle.’ The chakra is an energy point or node in the subtle body. It is described by many as a spinning wheel of light. The chakras are meeting points within the subtle body through which energy flows. This energy flows through channels called Nadi. The Nadi are channels through which your life force (prana) or vital energy moves. Various texts and teachings show many chakras within the subtle human body but there are seven main chakras which play the most important part.

Lotus Flower Chakra

Chakras are visualised as lotus flowers with different number of petals representing each chakra.

Qigong also relies on a similar model of the human body as the energy flows through the energy channels called the meridians, equivalent to the nadi.

Each chakra has a colour and a mantra associated with it. Some use yogic exercises, meditation, mantra jaap and healing energy to clear there chakras so that their physical body can function at its optimum. Each chakra is based along the spine and has an effect on the physical organs around its surrounding areas. The energy through the chakras should be cleared out every day as they become stagnated or blocked as you come in to contact with other people, surroundings and energies.

Below is a video which shows how the energy travels through the chakras within the human body.

Newer Post